Bulk Recycled Wool

I have reached the point where I need to start considering buying recycled wool in bulk. I was invited to buy a part of share a few months ago. There is a recycling plant near NYC that offers 10 bale shipments of wool. A bale is 100 pounds. PHEW! We are a family of 5 living in 800 square feet: we don’t have the space for that much wool! Plus, my washing machine is tiny, and to clean/felt/lanolize all of it would require many trips to the laundromat. I don’t have that kind of time. We’ll see what I end up doing.

In sewing news, I’m working on a bunch of wool diaper covers, wool sleep sacks, and wool leg warmers. Stay tuned for some ultra-cuteness!!!

One response to “Bulk Recycled Wool

  1. If you don’t mind me asking, I was wondering what the recycling plant that you were referencing here was called and if you had any contact info for them. I am interested to in buying large bulk quantities of wool to make baby blankets for less fortunate children in my area. I’ve never seen or been able to find something like this. If you have any of that info that you would be willing to share it would be greatly appreciated.
    thanks for your time. your diapers are beautifully simple. Great work!!!

Leave a Reply

