Waldorf dolls, road block

As you can see from the caption, I ripped the doll’s arms off. I didn’t like the legs from the pattern I used, and I didn’t like her arms. My daughter has been nitpicking the doll as well (poor doll!). It took me a couple of weeks to accept that I had to change the arms. I think I also over-stuffed the head, as well as made it too large. As you can see, it puts a bit of a strain on her body.
So now I have to sew new arms, stuff them, and sew them on. I think I may keep the doll under lock and key until I’m done; I don’t feel like hearing my daughter’s cutting remarks anymore!
This is making me feel so sorry for my mama, I know I said so many mean things about her handmade items through the years!

5 responses to “Waldorf dolls, road block

  1. You’re kidding, right? Granted, I do not sew, but I’d like to think I’m crafty enough and the doll looks great! I’m also familiar with the Waldorf dolls. Oh man! This sounds like that generational sin/curse concept. Guess it’s time you apologize to your mama, mama!

    • aw, i wish i could apologize to her face. i did have time before she passed away to apologize for not appreciating her amazing talent. and i had time to let her know how incredible i thought she was. it doesn’t make me feel any better for all of the times i was embarrassed by her handiwork!

  2. Oh dear. There’s not a day that goes by that I don’t stick my foot in my mouth. I’m sorry Marni. We embarrass so easily when we’re young. I know I did. Thankfully, I outgrew it. Unfortunately, for our 2 daughters, they may not be down with their mama’s free spiritedness and years from now will be blogging (if it’s still called that) about how embarrassed they were by me. J

  3. my kids criticize my dolls a lot, well, my teen does. Okay, a few pointers, attach the head to the body using the invisible backstitch (I learned this after making dolls for, uh, a long time) also, the head needs to be rounder and that will help with the crinkles on the bottom. I also adjust the cover quite a bit to get it smooth, I also squash the head to make it the shape I want (I also learned this much later). I think the doll is very sweet btw! And I think the head looks fine. I have a thing for big heads, but I don’t think it looks too big at all, if it’s wobbly it could be that you don’t have enough in the muff (neck) area šŸ™‚ have a lovely day- or night šŸ™‚

    • Saskia: thank you so much!!! Those are great hints. I think the muff is way too small and the head isn’t round enough. I did attach with the backstitch, and then did that ugly stitch on top because I thought it would help hold the head tighter. It didn’t, so I’m going to take it out. You’re the best for sharing helpful hints!

Leave a Reply

